Lake Leatherwood City Park is a place of natural serenity encompassing 1600 acres which includes an 85 acre spring-fed lake. The lake is formed by one of the largest hand-cut native limestone dams in the country. The dam and several structures at the park were built in the early 1940’s by the WPA. Lake Leatherwood Park is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
The park offers a variety of recreational opportunities. For hiking and biking enthusiasts, the park maintains over 20 miles of trails with varying terrains. Please note that all trails are closed to motorized vehicles. Hikers and bicyclists will enjoy solitude, wildlife, cool springs, an intermittent creek, historic stone walls and bridges, unusual rock formations and the beauty of nature.
Black Bass Lake City Park, is a facility completed by the Eureka Springs Park and Recreation Commission. From humble beginnings as a lumber source and spring water gathering location this area has long contributed to Eureka’s progress and well being. Black Bass Lake was created as a fire protection and drinking water reservoir from the abundant, pure springs in the upper reaches of Old Spring Gulch, including Sycamore, Standing Rock, and Arsenic Springs. The earthen and cut stone dam dates to 1894 and is one of the oldest still standing in the Ozarks. The city now receives water from Beaver Lake via the Carroll Boone Water District, but water is still pumped to a 100′ tall water tower on Hwy 62, as it has been for over a century.
Located just below town in the headwaters of the West Leatherwood Creek valley, visitors descend Oil Springs Road passing historic Oil and Johnson Springs and a wonderful example of a cavernous overhanging ledge on the way to the park. The dam, the area below the dam, and the spillway area are NO Access areas. General parking is by the kiosk and across the bridge. Restrooms and drinking water are planned for the future.
Enjoy the trails encircling the lake to access a non-motorized boat launch, a picnic area, several fishing spots, two wooden bridges and about two miles of hiking and bike riding. Standing Rock, a vertical sandstone remnant, protrudes from the depths of the lake along Standing Rock Trail – while Sycamore Spring flows in to the lake crossing Sycamore Spring. The Bluff Trail hugs the St. Joe geological formation, an amazing limestone outcropping, and features overviews of the lake and runs just above Sycamore Spring Trail.
The town of Eureka Springs was founded on the healing benefits of its cold spring waters.
Eureka Springs is an experience that can best be appreciated on a leisurely walk around town. The Eureka Springs Parks and Recreation Commission invites you to explore our city and its charming neighborhoods on a walking tour of our many parks and spring gardens.
The Eureka Springs Parks and Recreation Commission has jurisdiction and maintains over 1800 acres with 19 pocket springs and parks in Eureka Springs out of the 121 noted springs and seeps located in the area. The town of Eureka Springs was founded on the healing benefits of its spring waters. In the late 1800’s, settlers to the area began to believe that the spring waters had healing properties. As people came from all over to “take of the waters”, a city was born. On July 4th, 1879, the town was officially named “Eureka” Springs, meaning, “I found it!”. Eureka Springs grew to a population of about 20,000 people. Railroads, trolley cars, and horse-drawn carriages carried visitors to over 60 springs around town to cure their ills.